What's this? / Report Bad Ads
Latest News
Pope Francis

Complete program of pope's trip to Fatima on May 12-13

March 20, 2017. The Vatican has published Pope Francis' program for his upcoming trip to Fatima.
Pope Francis

Pope Francis will travel to Egypt from 28 to 29 April 2017

March 18, 2017. In response to the invitation from the President of the Republic, the Bishops of the Catholic Church, His Holiness Pope Tawadros II and the Grand Imam of the Mosque of Al Azhar, Sheikh Ahmed Mohamed el-Tayyib, Pope Francis will make an Apostolic trip to the Arab Republic of Egypt from 28 to 29 April 2017, visiting the city of Cairo. The programme of the trip will be published shortly.
Pope Francis

Pope to meet with most powerful European leaders on March 24

March 3, 2017. On March 24 a historic meeting will take place between the pope and many of the most powerful heads of government throughout Europe. The meeting was announced by the Director of the Press Office of the Holy See, Greg Burke and will begin at 6 p.m. in the Sala Regia of the Apostolic Palace in the Vatican.

June 2nd: Vatican invites Catholics around the world, to join the Pope in prayer

2013-05-28

ARCH. RINO FISICHELLLA
President, Pontifical Council for the New Evangelization 

"It will be a historic moment, because for an hour cathedrals throughout the world will be in communion with the Pope in Eucharistic adoration. We had a massive support to this initiative: it extends beyond the cathedrals and involves episcopal conferences, parishes and religious congregations, especially cloistered convents and associations.”

It is going to be a simple celebration, with no speech or homily by the Pope. However, the Vatican will broadcast footage of the Basilica and connect with countries around the world. Prayer will take place between 5 and 6 PM Italian time (16.00-17.00 GMT). In Mexico, it will be at 10 am, in Iceland at 3 in the afternoon. Korea and Japan will pray at midnight; Papua New Guinea at one in the morning and Honolulu at 5 am.

MSGR. JOSE OCTAVIO RUIZ ARENAS
Secretary, Pontifical Council for the New Evangelization

"It will be a great encouragement for all Christians to know that we are praying together with the Holy Father for the same intentions. First of all, that the Church may be holier, purer and more immaculate. Also, we will pray for Christians to be an expression of the Lord's love and mercy. Finally, for something that the Holy Father holds very dear: that we may turn to those who suffer and travel to the outskirts of society.”

According to the Vatican, since the Year of Faith began on October 11, 2012, some 4.3 million pilgrims have participated in the scheduled events.

Another mass meeting is on the agenda in June: Evangelium Vitae Day, which will culminate in a Mass celebrated by the Pope in St. Peter's Square on Sunday 16.


RCG/BB
CTV
-VM
-BN
u:OF