We use our own and third party cookies to improve your user experience; by continuing to browse, we understand that you accept their use. You can get more information on our cookies policy.

Rome Reports

You are using an outdated browser

In order to deliver the greatest experience to our visitors we use cutting edge web development techniques that require a modern browser. To view this page please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer 11 or greater

Pope to impose Pallium on metropolitan archbishops

On the list are 35 archbishops. Among them are the heads of major dioceses like Lisbon, in Portugal, San Francisco, Delhi, India, Monterrey, Mexico. There?s also the archbishop of Buenos Aires, Mario Aurelio Poli, who takes over the post held by Cardinal Bergoglio, before being elected Pope. ;

The ceremony will be held in St. Peter?s Basilica on June 29th. ;At this point, 34 of the 35 archbishops will attend the ceremony. The Archbishop of Hue, Vietnam, will not be able to travel to Rome. ;


1. Patriarch Manuel Jose Macario do Nascimento Clemente, patriarch of Lisbon, Portugal

2. Archbishop Dieudonne Nzapalainga, C.S.Sp., of Bangui, Central African Republic

3. Archbishop Carlo Roberto Maria Redaelli of Gorizia, Italy

4. Archbishop Claudio Dalla Zuanna, S.C.I., of Beira, Mozambique

5. Archbishop Prakash Mallavarapu of Visakhapatnam, India

6. Archbishop Antonio Carlos Altieri, S.D.B., of Passo Fundo, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil

7. Archbishop Marek Jedraszewski of Lodz, Poland

8. Archbishop Philip Tartaglia of Glasgow, Scotland, Great Britain

9. Archbishop Salvatore Joseph Cordileone of San Francisco, California, USA

10. Archbishop Rolando Joven Tria Tirona, O.C.D., of Caceres, Philippines

11. Archbishop Rogelio Cabrera Lopez of Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico

12. Archbishop Joseph William Tobin, C.Ss.R., of Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

13. Archbishop Carlos Maria Franzini of Mendoza, Argentina

14. Archbishop Lorenzo Ghizzoni of Ravenna-Cervia, Italy

15. Archbishop George Antonysamy of Madras and Mylapore, India

16. Archbishop Anil Joseph Thomas Couto of Delhi, India

17. Archbishop John Wong Soo Kau of Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

18. Archbishop Murray Chatlain of Keewatin-Le Pas, Manitoba, Canada

19. Archbishop Sérgio Eduardo Castriani, C.S.Sp., of Manaus, Amazonas, Brazil

20. Archbishop Peter Loy Chong of Suva, Fiji Islands

21. Archbishop Alfonso Cortes Contreras of Leon, Guanajuato, Mexico

22. Archbishop Alexander King Sample of Portland in Oregon, USA

23. Archbishop Joseph Effiong Ekuwem of Calabar, Nigeria

24. Archbishop Jesus Juarez Parraga, S.D.B., of Sucre, Bolivia

25. Archbishop Fabio Martinez Castilla of Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas, Mexico

26. Archbishop Ramon Alfredo Dus of Resistencia, Argentina

27. Archbishop Mario Aurelio Poli of Buenos Aires, Argentina

28. Archbishop Gintaras Linas Grusas of Vilnius, Lithuania

29. Archbishop Michael Owen Jackels of Dubuque, Iowa, USA

30. Archbishop Duro Hranic of Dakovo-Osijek, Croatia

31. Archbishop Moacir Silva of Ribeirao Preto, Sao Paulo, Brazil

32. Archbishop Jozef Piotr Kupny of Wroclaw, Poland

33. Archbishop Sergio Alfredo Gualberti Calandrina of Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia

34. Archbishop Giuseppe Petrocchi of L’Aquila, Italy

The following archbishop will receive the pallium in his Metropolitan See:

35. Archbishop Francois Xavier Le Van Hong of Hue, Vietnam