We use our own and third party cookies to improve your user experience; by continuing to browse, we understand that you accept their use. You can get more information on our cookies policy.

Rome Reports

You are using an outdated browser

In order to deliver the greatest experience to our visitors we use cutting edge web development techniques that require a modern browser. To view this page please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer 11 or greater

Pope Francis establishes new Economic Commission to reform Vatican departments

In particular, Pope Francis wants Vatican institutions to have a simpler structure, making sure the offices avoid unnecessary expenses, and that all business deals are made with a high degree of transparency. The Commission is made up of seven lay experts in economics and law, plus Mons. Lucio Angel Vallejo Balda, who serves as secretary. The President is Joseph Zahra, from Malta. Other members include Frenchmen Jean-Baptiste de Franssu and Jean-Videlain Sevestre, Spaniard Enrique Llano, Jochen Messemer, from Germany and Francesca Immacolata Chaouqui, from Italy.The only non-European member is George Yeo, from Singapore. The commission?s members will cooperate with the group of eight cardinals in charge of studying reforms of the Roman Curia. Their first meeting will be held shortly after the Pope returns from WYD 2013. ;BBRR-VM-BNup:SCar