We use our own and third party cookies to improve your user experience; by continuing to browse, we understand that you accept their use. You can get more information on our cookies policy.

Rome Reports

You are using an outdated browser

In order to deliver the greatest experience to our visitors we use cutting edge web development techniques that require a modern browser. To view this page please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer 11 or greater

List of new cardinals named by Pope Benedict XVI

List of the new Cardinals:Residential ArchbishopsAntonio Naguib, Patriarch of Alexandria of the Copts, (Egypt).Paolo Romeo, Archbishop of Palermo, (Italy).Reinhard Marx, Archbishop of Munich and Freising, (Germany). ;Kazimierz Nycz, Archbishop of Warsaw, (Poland).Donald William Wuerl, Archbishop of Washington, DC, (USA).Laurent Monsengwo Pasinya, Archbishop of Kinshasa, (Democratic Republic of Congo).Medardo Joseph Mazombwe, Archbishop Emeritus of Lusaka, (Zambia).Don Albert Malcolm Ranjith Patanbendige, Archbishop of Colombo, (Sri Lanka).Raúl Eduardo Vela Chiriboga, Archbishop of Quito, (Ecuador).Raymundo Damasceno Assis, Archbishop of Aparecida, (Brazil).From the Roman CuriaAngelo Amato, prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints ;(Italy).Fortunato Baldelli, penitentiary major of the Apostolic Penitentiary ;(Italy).Raymond Leo Burke, ;prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura (USA).Velasio De Paolis, president of the Prefecture for the Economic Affairs of the Holy See ;(Italy).Francesco Monterisi, archpriest of the papal basilica of St. Paul?s Outside-the-Walls ;(Italy)Kurt Koch, president of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity ;(Switzerland).Gianfranco Ravasi, president of the Pontifical Council for Culture ;(Italy).Paolo Sardi, vice chamberlain of Holy Roman Church ;(Italy).Robert Sarah, president of the Pontifical Council "Cor Unum" (Guinea).Mauro Piacenza, prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy ;(Italy).Cardinals older than 80Elio Sgreccia, former president of the Pontifical Academy for Life (Italy).José Manuel Estepa Llaurens, military ordinary emeritus of Spain (Spain).Walter Brandmuller, former president of the Pontifical Committee for Historical Sciences ;(Germany).Domenico Bartolucci, foformer director of the Pontifical Choir Capella Sistina (Italy).