We use our own and third party cookies to improve your user experience; by continuing to browse, we understand that you accept their use. You can get more information on our cookies policy.

Rome Reports

You are using an outdated browser

In order to deliver the greatest experience to our visitors we use cutting edge web development techniques that require a modern browser. To view this page please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer 11 or greater

LIVE: Pope Francis presents Ratzinger Prize at the Vatican

Pope Francis will present the Ratzinger Prize to two recipients: philosopher Hanna-Barbara Gerl-Falkovitz and Old Testament theologian Ludger Schwienhorst-Schönberger. Both are from Germany.

The Pope will also present the award to last year's recipients: French philosopher Jean-Luc Marion and Australian theologian Tracey Rowland. They were unable to travel to Rome because of the pandemic.

The awards ceremony will begin at noon, (local time) in the Vatican's Clementine Hall.

Since 2011, the Ratzinger Prize has been awarded to scholars who have made meaningful contributions to theology.