We use our own and third party cookies to improve your user experience; by continuing to browse, we understand that you accept their use. You can get more information on our cookies policy.

Rome Reports

You are using an outdated browser

In order to deliver the greatest experience to our visitors we use cutting edge web development techniques that require a modern browser. To view this page please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer 11 or greater

Names of the new Cardinals


Pope Francis will create new cardinals at a Consistory on June 29th. The names of the new Cardinals are:

Louis Raphaël I Sako – Chaldean Catholic Patriarch of Babylon (Bagdad)
Luis Ladaria –Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith
Angelo De Donatis – Vicar General of Rome
Giovanni Angelo Becciu – Substitute of the Secretary of State and Special Delegate for the Sovereign Military Order of Malta
Konrad Krajewski – Almoner of the Office of Papal Charities
Joseph Coutts – Archbishop of Karachi (Pakistan)
António dos Santos Marto – Bishop of Leiria-Fátima (Portugal)
Pedro Barreto – Archbishop of Huancayo (Peru)
Desiré Tsarahazana – Archbishop of Toamasina (Madagascar)
Giuseppe Petrocchi – Archbishop of L’Aquila (Italy)
Thomas Aquinas Manyo – Archbishop of Osaka (Japan)

Over 80 years old:

Sergio Obeso Rivera – Emeritus Archbishop of Xalapa (Mexico)
Toribio Ticona Porco – Emeritus Bishop of Corocoro (Bolivia)
Aquilino Bocos Merino – member of the Claretian order (Spain)