We use our own and third party cookies to improve your user experience; by continuing to browse, we understand that you accept their use. You can get more information on our cookies policy.

Rome Reports

You are using an outdated browser

In order to deliver the greatest experience to our visitors we use cutting edge web development techniques that require a modern browser. To view this page please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer 11 or greater

Ratzinger Prize newest 2019 winners announced

For the ninth consecutive year of its existence, the winners of this year's “Ratzinger Prize” were announced at the Sala Stampa.

Canadian philosopher Charles Margrave Taylor and African theologian Paul Béré will be awarded the prize on Nov. 9 in the Vatican.

The president of the Ratzinger Foundation, Fr. Lombardi, explained this year's prize focuses on how philosophy reflects on faith in the world and the important mission of African theology, as it evangelizes the African continent. 

The Ratzinger Prize is distributed by The Ratzinger Foundation and is similar to the “Nobel Prize in Theology.” 

Pope Francis will most likely deliver the prize himself to the winners on Nov. 9.

Melissa Butz