We use our own and third party cookies to improve your user experience; by continuing to browse, we understand that you accept their use. You can get more information on our cookies policy.

Rome Reports

You are using an outdated browser

In order to deliver the greatest experience to our visitors we use cutting edge web development techniques that require a modern browser. To view this page please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer 11 or greater


Check out Calendar of the Jubilee Year of Mercy

(-ONLY VIDEO-) The Jubilee Year of Mercy will begin on December 8th. On Tuesday the Vatican gave some insight on what can be expected.  December 2015 Tuesday, December 8, 2015 Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception Opening of the Holy Door of St. Peterâ??s Basilica.    Sunday, December 13, 2015 III Sunday of Advent   Opening of the Holy Door of the Basilica of St. John Lateran and in the Cathedrals of the world.   January 2016    Friday, January 1, 2016 Solemnity of Mary, the Holy Mother of God World Day for Peace. Opening of the Holy Door of the Basilica of Saint Mary Major.   Tuesday, January 19, - Thursday, January 21, 2016 Jubilee for the clergy, religious and lay faithful working in Sanctuaries and Shrines.    Monday, January 25, 2016 Feast of the Conversion of St. Paul Opening of the Holy Door of the Basilica of St. Paul Outside the Walls.   "Jubileeâ? sign of the Holy Father: witness of the works of mercy.      February 2016 Tuesday, February 2, 2016 Feast of the Presentation of the Lord and the Day for Consecrated Life Jubilee for Consecrated Life and the closing of the Year for Consecrated Life.     Wednesday, February 10, 2016 Ash Wednesday Sending forth of the Missionaries of Mercy, St. Peterâ??s Basilica.   Monday, February 22, 2016 Feast of the Chair of St. Peter   Jubilee for the Roman Curia "Jubileeâ? sign of the Holy Father: witness of the works of mercy.     March 2016   Friday, March 4 and Saturday, March 5, 2016  "24 Hours for the Lordâ? with a penitential liturgy in St. Peterâ??s Basilica on the afternoon of Friday, March 4.   Sunday, March 20, 2016 Palm Sunday The diocesan day for youth in Rome.   "Jubileeâ? sign of the Holy Father: witness of the works of mercy.     April 2016   Sunday, April 3, 2016 Divine Mercy Sunday Jubilee for those who are devoted to the spirituality of Divine Mercy.    Sunday, April 24, 2016 V Sunday of Easter   Jubilee for young boys and girls (ages 13 â?? 16) To profess the faith and construct a culture of mercy.    "Jubileeâ? sign of the Holy Father: witness of the works of mercy.      May 2016   Sunday, May 29, 2016 The Solemnity of Corpus Christi in Italy Jubilee for deacons.     June 2016 Friday, June 3, 2016 Solemnity of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus Jubilee for priests. 160 years since the introduction of the Feast by Pius IX in 1856.    Sunday, June 12, 2016 XI Sunday of Ordinary Time Jubilee for those who are ill and for persons with disabilities.   "Jubileeâ? sign of the Holy Father: witness of the works of mercy.      July 2016   Tuesday, July 26 â?? Sunday, July 31, 2016 To conclude on the XVIII Sunday of Ordinary Time   Jubilee for young people. World Youth Day in Krakow, Poland.     September 2016   Sunday, September 4, 2016 XXIII Sunday of Ordinary Time Memorial of Blessed Teresa of Calcutta â?? September Jubilee for workers and volunteers of mercy    Sunday, September 25, 2016 XXVI Sunday of Ordinary Time Jubilee for catechists   October 2016    Saturday, October 8 and Sunday, October 9, 2016 Saturday and Sunday after the Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary Marian Jubilee   November 2016   Tuesday, November 1, 2016 Solemnity of All Saints Holy Mass celebrated by the Holy Father in memory of the faithful departed.    Sunday, November 6, 2016 XXXII Sunday of Ordinary Time In St. Peters Basilica, the Jubilee for prisoners.    Sunday, November 13, 2016 XXXIII Sunday of Ordinary Time   Closing of the Holy Doors in the Basilicas of Rome and in the Dioceses of the world.   Sunday, November 20, 2016 Solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe   Closing of the Holy Door of St. Peterâ??s Basilica and the conclusion of the Jubilee of Mercy.