We use our own and third party cookies to improve your user experience; by continuing to browse, we understand that you accept their use. You can get more information on our cookies policy.

Rome Reports

You are using an outdated browser

In order to deliver the greatest experience to our visitors we use cutting edge web development techniques that require a modern browser. To view this page please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer 11 or greater

Today, pope awards Ratzinger Prize to Charles Taylor and Paul Béré

This Saturday, the pope will personally award the Ratzinger Prize of Theology during a ceremony in the Vatican.

Although Benedict XVI will not attend, the laureates will visit him tomorrow.

The first winner of this edition is the Canadian philosopher Charles Taylor, an expert in secularization and the relationships between religion and modernity.

The other prizewinner is theologist Paul Béré, from Burkina Faso. He founded the first Jesuit School of Theology in Africa, and established the first African theology magazine.

The Ratzinger Prize is the highest award given in the field of theology.

It has been awarded to 20 people since 2011, Catholics and non-Catholics among recipients.

Javier Martínez-Brocal
Translated: Rachel Dobrzynski